Majors and Minors

The LMU major, minor, or concentration is defined as a coherent field of study comprised of the following semester credit hour allocations:

Minor: 15-18 semester hours of coursework
Concentration: 24-27 semester hours of coursework
Major: 30-68 semester hours of coursework

The term “major” refers to a chosen primary program of study within a baccalaureate degree; the term “minor” refers to a chosen secondary field of study within a baccalaureate degree. As previously summarized, LMU offers a large variety of majors and minors. For details of those fields of study, see Undergraduate Academic Programs and Course Descriptions.

Several majors and minors, especially those interdisciplinary in nature, include courses found in academic departments other than that which houses the field of study.

The student pursuing a baccalaureate degree must eventually choose and declare a major and fulfill all course requirements for that program, in addition to the General Education Core Curriculum requirements.

It is not necessary that the student declare his or her major in the earliest phase of college study; however, it is strongly encouraged that a major and/or minor be declared before achieving junior classification. The following double major combinations are not permitted:

  • Biology, Pre-Med; and Chemistry, Pre-Med
  • Biology and Medical Laboratory Science
  • Biology and Conservation Biology
  • Medical Laboratory Science and Conservation Biology
  • Psychology and Social Work

Any chosen major or minor must be formally declared (and updated in the event of any change) using the Undergraduate Declaration of Major Form and remain in the student’s official advisement file.

A change of major or minor is at the discretion of the student, but the student is encouraged to consult his/her academic advisor before making such change. The student’s major and minor are noted on the student’s official academic transcript upon completion of the degree.